Obtaining a driver’s license is a big deal for many teenagers. The ability to drive anywhere anytime gives minors a sense of freedom that’s hard to match. Unfortunately, a juvenile driving under the influence (DUI) charge can prevent people from getting on the road. Let’s examine Florida’s juvenile DUI laws to better understand the allegations made against minors.
Florida Juvenile Laws
You may be surprised to learn that Florida makes a distinction between drivers who are under 21 and drivers who are under 18-years-old.
If a driver is under 21 but over 18 and has a blood-alcohol content (BAC) of at least 0.02%, he or she could face losing their license for up to six months.
If a driver is under 18-years-old and has a BAC of at least 0.02%, he or she could lose their license for six months and have to enroll in an addictions facility or completion of an alcohol education program.
Minors should know that they can refuse to take a breathalyzer test. If a minor refuses a breathalyzer test, he or she could lose a driver’s license for up to a year. However, an experienced juvenile DUI attorney may be able to help a minor reinstate a license.
Juvenile DUI with a BAC of 0.08%
A minor can be charged with DUI with a bac of 0.08%, he or she could be charged for drinking and driving and face penalties equal to that of an adult drunk driver.
Potential penalties include:
- A fine
- A license suspension
Representation for Underage DUI Charges in FL
If a loved one is accused of committing underage DUI, you have the right to hire experienced criminal defense for their case. First Coast Criminal Defense is an award-winning criminal defense firm that has experience representing juveniles in court.
Call (904) 474-3115 now for a free consultation for your child’s criminal case.