Jacksonville Burglary Attorneys
Lawyer for Burglary Charges in Florida
Definition of Burglary in Florida
Under Florida law, burglary is defined as a property crime whereby one enters a premise with an intent to commit unlawful activities.
Florida Statute §810.02 provides an in-depth definition of the crime, which includes breaking and entering into a dwelling, structure, or conveyance with the intention to commit a crime inside.
- 'dwelling' refers to a building that someone regularly resides in.
- 'structure' pertains to a building other than a dwelling, such as a commercial property.
- 'conveyance' is any mode of transportation that can be used to transport someone or something.
At First Coast Criminal Defense our Jacksonville burglary defense lawyers can investigate the incident and use the facts to build your case. We can tenaciously defend your rights in court.
Penalties for Burglary in FL
Those found guilty of burglary in Florida face harsh consequences, including fines, imprisonment, and a criminal record that can drastically impact their future. Burglaries are felonies in Florida. The minimum sentence for a burglary in FL is a third-degree felony.
Third-Degree Felony Burglary
In a 3rd-degree felony burglary, the offender was either unarmed or did not commit assault or battery. If the property was unoccupied at the time, this sentence would apply. The penalties for this degree of burglary include:
- up to 5 years imprisonment
- a $5,000 fine
Second-Degree Felony Burglary
Committing theft of a controlled substance, illegally entering an authorized emergency vehicle, or occupying a property without using violence, may lead to a second-degree felony charge for burglary. The penalties may result in:
- up to 15 years imprisonment
- up to $10,000 fine
First-Degree Felony Burglary
Any armed burglary or burglary with assault or battery is a first-degree felony. If property damage above $1,000 was caused or a motor vehicle was used to commit the crime, these charges may apply. The penalties for a first-degree felony burglary include:
- up to 30 years imprisonment
- up to $10,000 fine
Legal Help for Burglary Charges in FL
In order to prove a burglary charge in Florida, the prosecution must provide evidence that the defendant entered the premises with the intent to commit a crime. Our team can work to build a defense that may involve proving that you did not have any intent to commit a crime, that the property was open to the public at the time of the incident, or that the owner gave consent for you to enter the property.
With our knowledgeable Jacksonville burglary lawyers, you can get the legal assistance you need to defend your rights in court and seek a beneficial outcome.